Watch out for this hacker
Alright, so… I logged into Facebook (yes I know.. and probably easy to find as well, whatever), checked my messages and noticed I received an invitation to a group called “watch out for this hacker.” From the description:
If somebody called bm_tnoo7@hotmail.com adds you to their facebook account DONT accept it because its a hacker. Tell everyone on your list because if somebody on your list adds them you get them on your list he’ll figure out your ID computer address. So copy and paste this message to everyone even if you hate them and fast because if he hacks their mail he hacks yours
The group has almost 2000 members, and I just gotta say… this is hilarious. WTF is a “ID computer address?” o_O
So a bunch of people, some smarter than others, start talking about how this is possible/not possible/etc. The group starter, responds to the flurry of comments with this:
LET ME STOP ALL THIS COMMOTION….I CREATED THIS GROUP IN HOPES THAT I CAN PREVENT YOU GUYS FROM BEING HACKED…I KNOW WAT IM TALKING ABOUT, AND IT IS NOT THRU YOUR IP ADDRESS THAT HE’LL GET INTO THE SYSTEM…HE USES DIFFERENT METHODS. ALL THESE NERDS TALKIN ABOUT THEY ARE AN EXPERTISE, DONT NO SHIT…NOT EVEN CLOSE…IF ONLY U KNEW….ILL STOP RITE THERE
Yup.. okay buddy. Best comment I read so far:
“ID computer address”… wow. Someone get Ted Stevens on the line.

i don’t suppose you noticed how similar this sounds to a hoax chain letter…
i wonder what rewards are associated with being a group admin of a group with many members…
Actually, if you look on popular webmaster forums such as Digital Point you can make quite a few bucks by simply gaining large amounts of group members and friends by spamming them with stupid messages such as this one. If anyone’s wondering, people actually pay for this shit. Not quite an exact parallel but similar.
Red alert! Internet Security Status changed to RED in response to FaceBook uber-haxor!
Looks like the word has gotten out:
http://www.google.com/search?q=bm_tnoo7%40hotmail.com
I’m with kurt, this sounds like something you’d read on snopes.com…hmmm…click, click, type, search…ah yes, here it is:
http://www.snopes.com/computer/internet/dontadd.asp
Facebook is not shutting down, and there is no hacker with any weird hotmail address or any other address trying to add you as a friend to steal your info. These are chain letter hoaxes so please be smart and don’t pass them on.
Facebook Shutting Down Hoax Info:
http://www.hoax-slayer.com/hsblog/2007/08/facebook-shutting-down-hoax.html
Facebook Hacker Hoax Info:
http://www.sophos.com/security/hoaxes/facebook_hacker.html http://www.hoax-slayer.com/bumtnoo7-hacker-hoax.shtml http://bulkanix.blogspot.com/2007/11/facebook-chain-letter.html